An Infinite Regression

Imagine a technology blog with insightful content… It's not this one

An introductory post

Leave a comment

WordPress. Supposedly the internet’s largest blogging platform and as of August 2011 manages over 22% of all new websites created. One would think, with all the traffic it gathers and the amount of new users opening accounts everyday, that the UI would be far more user friendly. However that could be attributed to my general lack of path-finding skills when using new, cluttered menus. However, I pushed through and here we are.

After initially deciding upon WordPress over Blogger, I came across one of the biggest challenges one faces when creating an online identity; the name. What would I call this blog that would ultimately be used as an assessment piece for the next few weeks of this course. Should it be humourous or profound? Thought-provoking or cliche? After trying out a ridiculously large amount of names I settled on this one; An Infinite Regression. Stolen directly from an Animals as Leaders song; I find that the title is somewhat paradoxical, in that one cannot regress infinitely, yet it still makes sense in it’s own way.

So after settling on a name I set out to choose a theme and get customising. Choosing a theme was simple enough; WordPress has a nice collection of themes to choose from, even if some of them cost upwards of $80. However I found a lot of them to be very similar to one another. I can understand that a large selling point of WordPress is it’s professionalism; however you do get bored of seeing black text on a white background in every theme. I think finding a healthy medium between the blandness of simple black and white themes with the clutter and blinding colour of themes found on other social sites such as Tumblr, is key to finding a nice theme. Hopefully the theme I chose accomplishes that with some tweaking.

 

Leave a comment